Chest Training with MRI’s Maribel Burgos

ImageEven as a bikini competitor, chest workouts are important. Chest workouts also target the shoulders, biceps and triceps… great for sculpting the upper body!!! I try to mix up the order and the exercises for chest. I try to keep my body guessing so it does not get use to the same routine.

Here are the chest exercises I mix up during my chest routines:

Flat Bench

4 x 10-12. The first set of my chest routine is always at a lighter weight so I can warm up my muscles. I gradually increase the weight of the next sets.

Incline Dumbbell Press

4-5 x 10-12. I use dumbbells in each hand and pressed them up while seated on an incline bench.  It is important to not arch your back. Otherwise, you can injury your lower back.  Weight used: 15, 17, 20, 25, lb dumbbells

Dumbbell Flies.

4 x 10. I alternate between a flat bench and the incline bench.  Dumbbell flies can be strenuous on the shoulders, so I don’t go very heavy.  Weight used: 10, 12, 15, 20 lb dumbbells.

Cable Cross Over

4 x 10. I like to change up the position of the cables on this exercise. During this workout I placed the cables at the top of the machine.  Weights used were:  15, 20, 20 lbs on each side

Push ups

5 x 10-12 Using body weight is a great way to fatigue the muscle. By this point my muscles are so tired that I know I am pushing them to the final extreme for that day.  I love push ups!!!

Don’t forget your daily dose of protein after your workout! In order to grow you must feed your muscles. MRI’s Pro-NOS in French Vanilla Cream is my favorite!

Leave a comment

Filed under The Training Trenches

Leave a comment