Alison Burgess Prepping for Culver City

Surprise surprise, I’m getting ready to compete!  But this time it’s different than any of the others – I am cutting it close!!  …and therefore may totally regret announcing it like this if my body doesn’t respond fast enough.  But….oh well! I’m telling you anyway!!

I’m definitely bound for the USA’s at the end of July (IFBB here I come!) but have this sudden insatiable itch to compete before then!  I was on the fence about it until one week ago, therefore have been kiiinda following my diet (no, that was not me you saw at Panda Express a few weeks ago).  But I’ve been super on top of my workouts, plus my recent addition to my supplement schedule of MRI’s Red Repair (new love – my muscles are NOT wasting!) has made my body healthier and fitter FASTER than it has been in a long time, so I’m going to keep it up and give May 26th in Culver City my best shot.

I have the best of the best coaches, Kim Oddo, who gave me the green light last weekend, but told me I have no time to waste!  So May is officially going to be a month of PERFECT eating, PERFECT training, PERFECT sleeping, and hopefully PERFECT results!  It’ll be hard, but I absolutely love the challenge.  The prep for competing is really half the fun – you are challenging yourself 24/7 with every workout, every meal, your bedtime, and your support system – no negative people allowed!  Ever, for that matter!

I will say this though, in the spirit of keeping it real:  If for some reason my body doesn’t respond fast enough (that DOES happen, that’s why we can’t be so hard on ourselves!) and isn’t in tip-top shape for the 26th, I’m marching straight to Mrs. Field’s (you’re invited!).   And then getting right back on track for USA’s starting the next day.  Actually, I’m going to Mrs. Field’s afterward if I compete too (gotta reward myself!!).  ….Hopefully Kim isn’t reading this?? 🙂

That mirror pic was taken exactly 17 days away from competition day (wow even typing that makes me think I should be up and doing cardio NOW!! yikes!), and the stage pic is the shape I need to be in on the 26th.

So what do you think??  Let me know, I’ll be on the treadmill!

ImageImage

Leave a comment

Filed under Behind the Scenes: Athlete Life

Leave a comment